Richard Locker, Commercial Appeal,
April 16, 2013

NASHVILLE — With suburban mayors from Shelby County watching in support, both houses of the state legislature approved the bill allowing the six Memphis suburban cities to create new municipal school districts Monday.

The House voted first, approving HB 1288 on a 70-24 vote. The Senate followed with a 24-5 approval. Gov. Bill Haslam, the former mayor of Knoxville, has indicated he will sign it into law.

Once that happens, the city boards of Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, Lakeland and Millington can begin the process again of calling referendums to create the new systems, and then follow with elections for school board members to run the systems. All six approved new districts and sales tax increases to fund them last summer, then elected school boards last fall, but that process was invalidated by a federal court ruling on Nov. 27.

After the Nashville votes, Collierville Mayor Stan Joyner and Germantown Mayor Sharon Goldsworthy said their city boards will proceed as quickly as possible with passing new school ordinances and calling new referendums.

Comments are closed.