Second municipal school bill signed into law

On April 30, 2013, in News 2013, by Mark Norris

By Richard Locker,
April 29, 2013

NASHVILLE — Gov. Bill Haslam on Monday signed into law the second of the two municipal school district bills — this one removing the limits on the number of school systems permitted in a county.

Previous Tennessee law limited to six the number of school districts per county. Senate Bill 1354, by Sen. Mark Norris, R-Collierville, and Rep. Ron Lollar, R-Bartlett, is the second of two bills lawmakers passed this year paving the way for Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, Lakeland and Millington to create their own municipal school systems for the start of the 2014-15 school year.

Those six, when added to the new unified Memphis-Shelby County Schools, would have exceeded the limit under prior law.

The governor signed the other bill last week. It repealed a prohibition imposed in 1998 on the creation of new municipal school systems in Tennessee.

Comments are closed.